THE

TWO TUBS

BURY

History

The oldest hostelry in this famous market town, The Tubs is steeped in history. It is possible to see the original wattle and daub wall construction through a window behind the front bar. Part of the building is composed of two cruck beam cottages which date back to Tudor times. Parts of the cellar are even earlier, dating back to the medieval settlement of Bury. At the heart of town, nestled between the site of Bury Castle and the beautiful 19th century Gothic Revival Parish Church, The Two Tubs is sole survivor of many tradtitional beer houses which once enclosed the original 15th century market site before it was relocated in 1839. 

   

'The Globe Inn', the original name of The Two Tubs, was first licensed as an ale house in the early 1800s. In 1830 the landlord Mr. Shaw and 'Owd Rudgy' of the Toasted Cheese Club responded to competition from the neighbouring Old White Bear's new signage by sawing a barrel in half to form a globe. The hoops and staves were intended to represent the lines of latitiude and longitude. The Two Tubs' nickname remains to this day. (The Old White Lion was eventually demolished to make the Beer Garden of the Two Tubs.)

 

 


The Two Tubs Inn |  9 The Wylde, Bury BL9 0LA
Best & Oldest Pub in Bury |  Lancashire |  Greater Manchester 

 

Website design & hosting by BuryWebs